Book Vs. Movie: Insurgent

insurgent1        Insurgent_poster

In response to the horrendous weather Sydney is providing at the moment I thought I would do a book vs. movie review because really, on a stormy day what else is there do to other than read or watch.

As a girl who is an avid reader and who has been interested in books for as long as she can remember, I also watch a lot of movies. In most cases I normally prefer the book, preferring the attention to detail and chance to envision the characters however I like although this was not the case with Insurgent. After adoring both the book and movie for Divergent, I was keen to start reading the second book before the movie was released in cinema’s. When I was reading however it just didn’t grab me the way Divergent did. I loved getting to know the characters in more depth especially Tobias and exploring his relationships with his parents but to me it just felt like the book dragged. I constantly put it down and eventually just skimmed straight through to the end. The movie however, that was a completely different story (excuse the pun.) It hooked me from the get-go and my eyes were glued to the screen the whole way through. The acting in that movie was spectacular and the soundtrack was also perfect. The special effects were also impeccable and I think they did an amazing job.

Overall I’d give the book a 7/10 and I’d easily give the movie a 10/10, what were your thoughts? I’d love to hear them in the comments section below.

lovelexy xx

5 thoughts on “Book Vs. Movie: Insurgent

  1. Loved reading your book vs. movie opinions and overall I totally agree. While I wouldn’t say I was quite so disenchanted with the book as you were I definitely thought the movie held its own. I’m currently in the middle of the third book however, and am definitely having the struggle of always wanting to put it down – it’s just not holding my interest! I’ll be interested to see how the movie version of Allegiant compares.

    Like

Leave a Reply

